Skip to content
Home » Social Media Updates » How To Check Who Blocked You On Twitter

How To Check Who Blocked You On Twitter

How To Check Who Blocked You On Twitter. Twitter allows its users to customize their feeds and filter out the content they don’t want to see. One of the options is to block someone. If you’re wondering whether you’ve been blocked on Twitter but not sure how to confirm it, you’re in the right place.

In this article, we’ll discuss how to check who blocked you on Twitter. Along with that, we’ll offer tips and tricks to use if you want to block someone without them realizing it or avoid seeing specific words.

How to get Who Blocked You on Twitter

When someone blocks you, you won’t receive a notification about it.

Here’s what happens when you’re blocked:

  • You don’t see the person’s tweets.
  • You won’t receive notifications regarding their account.
  • You don’t see comments or replies in a conversation by that person.
  • You can technically send them a message, but they won’t receive it.

If you suspect you’ve been blocked on Twitter, the bad news is the app doesn’t offer insight into who did it or when. However, that doesn’t mean there isn’t a way to find out who blocked you.

Namely, you can check who blocked you on Twitter manually. It might take some time to complete the process, but you can check it in a few seconds if you have a specific user in mind.

Follow the steps below to establish whether someone blocked you on Twitter:

  • Visit the Twitter website or launch the mobile app.
  • Search for the person in question.
  • If you see their profile, it means you’re not blocked. If you see “You’re blocked. You can’t follow or see [the user’s name] Tweets”, it means they’ve blocked you.

Although some may consider not receiving a notification about being blocked unfortunate, Twitter has sound reasoning behind this decision. Namely, the whole purpose of blocking someone is to avoid unwanted or unnecessary interactions. Twitter respects its users’ privacy, which is why it doesn’t provide any information regarding people who blocked you. The same goes for when you block someone.

Can I Block Someone on Twitter Without Them Being Able to Tell?

As mentioned, when you block someone on Twitter, they won’t receive a notification about it. But they can search your profile and establish they’ve been blocked.

If you don’t want to see a person’s tweets or comments, you can remove them from your feed by muting them. That way, you won’t block them, but you won’t be able to see their posts on your timeline. Users with muted accounts won’t know you’ve muted them.

Muting an account doesn’t mean unfollowing it. The person remains on your followers’ list, but you won’t see any updates. Also, they’ll still be able to message you, mention or reply to you, and you’ll still receive notifications about it.

You can also mute an account you’re not following. In that case, you won’t receive notifications about replies and mentions by that person.